Synchronized Snails

On my walk this morning I happened upon these synchronized snails. Snails such as these are a common sight in Singapore. They are on the grass, crossing the sidewalk, climbing buildings.

When I first saw them they were eating cat kibble. I didn't know they did that.  I was also surprised to discover that they have two sets of antennae.  On further research when I arrived home, the long ones have "eyes" on the ends of them.  The shorter pair are for feeling things.  They have denticles on their tongues, teeth-like ridges. They secrete mucus to help them "walk".   They are the slowest moving land creature, averaging 0.03 mph.

Leave a Reply

