Jan. 3: Tioman Island, Malaysia

To recover from jet lag and to have some time together after our Christmas apart, Kent and I flew to Tioman Island, Malaysia. From Singapore, it is a 35 minute flight on Berjaya Air which flies out of Seletar Airport.

We stayed at the Berjaya Resort.   Here is the view from our balcony.

Dsc00189

I never tired of watching the tide roll in and out. At night the jet lag would rouse me but the surf crashing on the beach at high tide would lull me back to sleep. 

Here is another view from our balcony at low tide. You can see Renggis Island in the distance.  All weekend I kept thinking how much it looks like a head of broccoli. There is great snorkeling to be had around that island which is just minutes off the beach.

 

Dsc00190

 Our building looks just like the one you can see here.  This is monsoon season so the resort was sparsely populated. Because of that we were able to upgrade to a deluxe, beach front room for MYR $150 total for 3 days. Here is the view straight off our balcony. Our building looks like that one.

Dsc00192

 Not only was the view great but the room was much, much larger and had a table and sitting area.

Dsc00195

I also enjoyed the resident cats.  We opened the door to find two of them on the balcony. There was a mom cat and three adolescent kittens. This is one of the kittens.

Dsc00197

Near dusk we walked out onto the jetty. You can see the clouds descending the mountain. 

Dsc00198

 

Southeast Asian beaches really do sunsets well.

Dsc00199

We ate dinner at the resort’s Thai restaurant.  Kent had green curry with chicken. I had a salmon, lime and avocado dish which was beautifully presented and delicious. 

Dsc00203

Thanks to jet lag we were toast by 9:00 pm.  

 

3 thoughts on “Jan. 3: Tioman Island, Malaysia

  1. Susan, I love these pictures. When we were on Tioman it was a busy season, but I got a ton of pictures of flowers…I was in a closeup mode during that trip. It was relaxing, and I am so glad to hear that you and Kent had the special time to enjoy it, jet lag and all.Love, Louise

  2. Thanks Louise,<div><br></div><div>I remember that you were on an ellusive quest to find the Bali Hai beach.  I kept thinking of you and that when we were there.</div><div><br></div><div>Love, Susan<br><br></div>

  3. <span class="Apple-style-span" style="font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 14px; color: rgb(182, 182, 182); line-height: 18px; ">I didn't film this today, but I spent part of today making it. I truly am a terribly videographer; some of the video is sideways. In Rodin's garden, I wasn't actually filming when I thought I was. So when I thought I turned it off, it recorded, but there is great bird calls on it so I kept it. Possibly the best you can say is that it is brief. Possibly you should just listen and not watch.</span>

Leave a Reply

