Snowdrop Lace in Some Summer Sky

I used my new swift for the first time last weekend. It played nicely with my wool winder, making short work of turning 3 hanks into lovely balls. Of course, today I heard someone on a podcast talking about the evils of pinching the yarn between your fingers as you wind; it stretches the yarn and will mess up your gauge. I’m already gauge-challenged enough.

The first ball I wound is my Dream in Color Smooshy in the Some Summer Sky colorway. After many false starts, I now have the first repeat of the pattern done. I’m loving the pattern, fun to knit but not too challenging if I’d only remember all the yarn overs.

Snowdrop Lace Scarf

Last night while watching “Wall-E” I finished the toes of my Fixation on Stripes socks. I would use this yarn again for warm weather socks, but I’d not do straight stockinette. However, I kept this first pair plain to get used to the elasticity of the yarn. At first I thought they were too long in the foot, but now I think they will be fine. Actually, they must be more than fine because Kapas gave them the Chin Rub of Approval.

Fixation on Stripes with approving cat

A few weeks ago, I finally finished my first pair of socks for Kent. Or rather, they are the first pair I started but the second pair I finished. I followed the Garter Rib pattern from Sensational Knitted Socks. My goal was to knit a pair of socks that stayed up but didn’t leave welts around the legs. I succeeded in that. Knit on US #0 needles, they are full of unintended design elements, but that’s okay. I learned a bunch, and most of the time they can only be glimpsed between his shoes and trousers. They’ll do.

Garter Rib Socks #2

The yarn, Chameleon Colorworks’ Bambino is a wool, bamboo, nylon blend that was splitty to knit but made a lovely finished fabric that is washing just fine (in a garmet bag in cold water) and I even dried them the other day and they didn’t complain a bit.

One thought on “Snowdrop Lace in Some Summer Sky

  1. YEAH on all the finishing!!!!!!!!!
    as for winding from swift to ball winder you don’t want to pinch the yarn but you do want to let it glide over a finger to create just a little tension.

    I am off to London on Weds for a long week end, I will miss you at Christmas!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

