Summer Yarn

Minnesota Yarn Stores

How do I love thee?

Thou art more lovely than a summer day

And more numerous..

We Minnesotans take our summers pretty seriously since they are so short. I am loving summer here. I always forget exactly how lovely summer is. Each week different plants start blooming. Birds are courting and nesting like crazy. Mornings are sweet with bird calls and the smell of peonies.

And equally sweet are the amazing yarn stores here in the Twin Cities. It was such a treat last summer to discover a new yarn store just a few blocks from my home. BeYaGi has beads, yarn and gifts. As I mentioned earlier, they were kind enough to have a sale my first week home. I bought most of my yarn for the upcoming year.

I focused on sock yarns so I can make socks for Kent since he actually needs them.

Tofutsies

Plymouth Rockin' Sox

Tofutsies

Fortissima Socka

I also bought yarn to make a baby sweater for Kate,

Cleckhaton Cocoon

premmie hats for the babies at United Hospital,

Fortissima Socka

and a few gifts, and bit of yarn for me.

Plymouth Yarn Jeannee Sugar'n Cream

Now I need to get it all back to Singapore without spending more than I saved at the sale.

I also visited Borealis Yarns with Louise. They keep expanding their selection, but I was good and just looked.

Finally, I visited Yarnery and only bought a few sets of Hiya Hiya circulars for projects I want to work on now. I forgot all my needles in Singapore.

That is probably it for my yarn store visits this trip. I don’t have much more time in town. I didn’t get to the Sheepy Shop, Depth of Field, Double Ewe, Three Kittens or any of the other yarn delights in town. I keep dreaming of the Singapore Knitters visiting here and touring the yarn stores. That would be dangerously fun.

3 thoughts on “Summer Yarn

  1. I wish i would have known you were in saint paul! We are having lovely weather. A new bistro opened on grand avenue , Salut, and it is quite good. We are birthing many preemies at United lately. If you are still in saint paul and drop the hats off; stop by station 2200 and find me. mention Walleyegirl and knitting and I’m sure they will find me. Safe travels…

Leave a Reply

