End of July WIPs

[For some strange reason, this didn’t post back in July when I wrote it. I have no progress to report, which is depressing, but at least the post is still accurate.]

Summer is over for me. I’ll be back at work tomorrow trying to make sense of all that needs to happen before I start giving inservices on Monday. While I really like my job, I’m sad that more knitting didn’t happen this summer. It’s left me with a small pile of WIPs.

First, there is the Grace Kelly Scarf. It is patiently waiting for me. It is a good traveling project and it is waiting to travel.

Next, there is the class sock from Sensational Knitted Socks. I STILL haven’t Kitchenered the toe because I haven’t had 30 minutes of uninterrupted time in which to figure it out and do it. Fortunately, a friend sent me a link to a brilliant way to do this stitch. I’m eager to try it. The illustrations and directions are so good that I think I can do it!

My spiral tube socks are also waiting. I purposely stopped knitting after the first sock because I wanted to dive into socks regular (not tube) socks while I still had access to amazing Louise to help me. As I wrote before, they will be a pair of slippers when completed. I will sew small leather heel and toe soles on them and they will be a Good Thing even if they aren’t lovely. I think I’ll cast on the second sock and bag it up so I can use it as a traveling sock now that my basic sock is getting tricky.

Yep. The final WIP is my basic sock. It is the first sock in Cat Bordhi’s Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles book. I’m really glad I knit the class sock first. It was small and quick and gave me experience knitting heel flap, turning a heel, picking up stitches for the gusset, etc. It helped that the sock was knit on larger needles with worsted weight yarn; I could “see” what I was doing better than I can with the fingering weight yarn I am using now.

There you have it; my list of WIPs. I think it is complete, but it’s possible there is another one or two lurking out of sight.

Leave a Reply

